FMS Certification

Last weekend was BIG. My brain was so full that by the time I left the final day of my Functional Movement Screen workshop I wandered around downtown Seattle in 90 degree heat for nearly two hours before I figured out how to get home. Granted, it was Pride weekend and the buses were all rerouted… it was hard.
I’m still processing and rereading all the information, not to mention my hastily-scribbled notes – Brett Jones is a hilarious genius and at times I was laughing too hard to write legibly (no complaining here!). To help with my information overload and absorption process, I thought I’d rehash some things here.

What I learned at the FMS Levels 1&2:
• I am a little tiny baby trainer. I know nothing.
• The body in motion is SO complex…and I want to learn all about it!
• Big changes in movement patterns can be made with very little work.
• Most people do not move well enough.
• Mobility work must go hand-in-hand with stability work.
• Breathing is one of the most important and most ignored aspects of fitness.
• I need to work on my trunk stability and thoracic mobility.
• The goal isn’t perfect movement, it’s better movement.
• It’s important not to focus on blaming certain muscles but rather on addressing movement issues on a big-picture level.
• There’s often a lack of correlation between the conclusion of physical therapy and full movement preparedness – and I’m interested in working with people in that transition.
(and SO MUCH MORE – I’ll return to add more to this list at another time)

Without a doubt, I’d recommend this course. Hell, any course with Brett Jones. You won’t regret it. I do think that there were others (much more experienced and knowledgeable about the body than I) who were able to get more out of the workshop. But previously I had NO assessment baseline system to use, and this was a serious problem. I read a quote somewhere, not sure who said it: “If you’re not assessing, you’re just guessing”. Yep, that was me. So I certainly don’t wish I had waited to take it by any means. I now have the tools to become a much better trainer; I can grow into this wealth of knowledge and as I get to know the body better I will continue to uncover further depths of the functionality of the screen. I’d much rather be in over my head as a 7-month-old trainer than learn it in 5 years after training people poorly!
Another thing that was very exciting to me was to realize how much I’ve learned already from Andrea and the other trainers at Kettlebility and see how the FMS concepts are all wrapped up in the classes I’ve been learning to teach and the training style I’ve been shadowing/studying. It made me feel like although I’m really new to this and I have mountains to move, I’m doing my very best to start out at the right place!

One response to “FMS Certification

  1. Congrats on the new training certification. You may be new at this work but you’re skilled at listening and I greatly admire your ability to pick up on what a person might need to advance themselves.

Leave a Reply

